Life Happenings #2

Hello again! This week has been filled with exciting things like birthdays, garden planting, and ant exterminating!
Where I left you last week, Caleb and I had finished our 5k Friday, and later that evening we took a few of our students to a Greensboro Grasshoppers baseball game! I hadn’t been to a “real” baseball game in quite a while, and I thought it was just so much fun! Here’s the photo I posted on Instagram (follow me @mooroo72 !!) We ended up getting home kind of late, because we treated the kids to milkshakes before heading home! Although the ‘Hoppers didn’t pull through with a W, we still enjoyed ourselves :)

Processed with Moldiv

I was so thankful when Saturday came around because we were able to relax a little bit and actually got quite a bit of work done in the garden! We have planted: snow peas, okra, sweet and hot peppers, potatoes, onions, garlic, cucumbers. We are also hoping to get some tomato plants from a friend! Last summer, Caleb and I were able to make our own salsa….. You guys, it was gone within four days, probably! So good (thanks mom and dad for the recipe ;)!
IMG_8947
We were also able to clean out the fish tank on Saturday. It is definitely a chore when I have to do it by myself, but is so much easier with another set of hands! Here’s our little fish! The black ones are Brutus and Tiago, the gray one is Theo (our first fish!), all orange is Gilly, and the one with orange on top is Ginger :) They are such interesting creatures, and are beginning to get accustomed to certain times of day for feeding! It’s crazy!
IMG_8950IMG_8954(it’d difficult to get a decent picture with the fish and all the reflections!)
Fast-forward to Monday so we can all wish my handsome husband a happy birthday!! Woohoo! My hottie of a partner turned another year older and we are celebrating all week long as is tradition in certain places *ahem* ;) The day started with french toast, bacon, and a present! Then, unfortunately, he had to spend the morning at work…boo! But at least we were able to spend the afternoon together :) For dinner, we had been invited to a game night with some friends! I prepared Caleb’s customary birthday “Texas Sheet Cake” and brought it to share as we ate a meal together and played Phase 10. I apologize for not having more pictures of these things, but we were simply enjoying the company!
IMG_8837IMG_8838IMG_8840
My husband is a youth pastor and we have been working on the VBS program for this summer. Let me tell you, he and I are so excited! On Tuesday, we had another volunteer training meeting. So far these have had kind of low attendance, but those who came mentioned how much they appreciated it and felt that their time was well spent. That is always a good thing to hear. During this session, we learned about being creative, working as a team, and how to lead a child to Christ.
Screen Shot 2015-05-22 at 2.08.40 PM
Wednesday is the day we chose to celebrate his birthday, just the two of us. I prepared this tasty meal together, which we found here through Pinterest. We played a game called Settlers of Catan, watched some Seinfeld, and allowed ourselves to relax a little bit. It is so important to have dates with your spouse, and I hope (if you are married) that you make time like this a priority! It definitely strengthens my bond with Caleb and helps us to feel more One.
IMG_8885IMG_8888
Also…..look at this family of geese! They were just walking through the road one day as I was driving along! Crazyyyyyyy
IMG_8901
That leads us to Friday! We made pancakes this morning because Caleb takes Friday’s off! Yummy in our tummies! We ran our 5k Friday this week and it felt nice to be outside – it is absolutely gorgeous today :)
IMG_8940IMG_8942
Oh and here’s my workspace! I recently purchased an iMac computer, which I am still getting used to, and I love it! It is so nice to have a set workspace now, and I think, no I know that this will allow me to be much more efficient. Plus, my husband does a lot of photography, so he is able to do editing here too, if he ever wanted to.
IMG_6877
I hope you had a wonderful week as well! I’ll see you next week :)
Leave a Reply

